I am not white enough

Some really challenging thoughts for those of us who are from the ‘white intellectual (liberal) elite’. How can the Church break out of the cultural boxes which hold it back? How can the Church just be the Church? Hye Sung Francis gives you some food for thought.

Hye Sung Francis

No matter where I’m dropped, I always struggle with a sense of not belonging. I’m a gay, half-Japanese, ex-Moonie, college drop-out, Quaker who believes in Jesus, speaks in tongues, and takes communion. I am in many ways a paradox, but more than anything, I’m a really bizarre human being. And my last post about “White Appropriateness” deeply reflects my own exhausted experience in the white mainline Church. Yes, I painted the mainline world with a broad brush. I recognize that I am currently going through a sudden and painful life-change and some of that hurt may have been funneled into my last post. That said, I stand by everything I wrote, and I hope I can clarify a bit on what I mean by “white appropriateness”, and how I have encountered it among liberal mainline Protestants and even Quakers.

11207375_10204621974172746_5226956197144609574_n (1) My best friend and I watching TV and mutually encouraging one another in the sloppy, wacky, and…

View original post 689 more words

Leave a Reply

